SHCFA Grassroots Awards 2018

Calum Oakenfold
Celebrating Our Local Grassroots Heroes

Sheffield & Hallamshire County FA was proud to present the 2018 FA McDonalds Grassroots awards last week held our Rotherham United's New York Stadium. The annual awards evening is put in place at the end of each season to celebrate our local grassroots heroes and recognize the work they do. 

This years awards saw over 200 nominations for the 14 awards with many fantastic examples of individuals, groups and organisations completing voluntary work across our county. A panel of independent judges selected the 14 winners through an extensive assessment process. 

Over the past few years the awards evening has been held at Sheffield's Baldwins Omega restaurant but this years awards traveled to the New York Stadium in Rotherham. This excellent venue provided the perfect back drop for the awards and guests the opportunity to view the great facilities this club has. 

Sheffield & Hallamshire County FA, General Manager, Simon Frost stated: "Its great to be here in Rotherham for our awards tonight and the stadium is a great setting for football awards. The awards feature winners from across our county so it is nice that they will all be able to come together under one roof and celebrate their work together."

Sheffield & Hallamshire County FA, Marketing and Communications Officer, Calum Oakenfold stated: "The grassroots awards are a great opportunity for to celebrate and recognize all the hard work that goes on across our county to support the grassroots game. We received so many excellent nominations that it was very difficult to select this years winners and obviously we wish we could have everyone here to attend the awards. The stories that we have from this years winners really show how much time and commitment goes into supporting local football and these awards evenings are a great opportunity for us to give a little back. We are proud to hold these awards and are already looking forward to next seasons."   

Sheffield & Hallamshire CFA 2018 Award Winners: 

Young Volunteer of the Year - Owen Evans (presented by SHCFA Chairman Brian Jones)

Owen received this award for his voluntary work that he completes at his local club that includes supporting coaches during training, helping develop players and officiating games. 


Volunteer of the Year - Darren Warner

Darren has received this award for the work he completes with Club Doncaster Titans. Darren has taken the club and developed the attendance alongside linking with local organisations to support that individuals that come to Darren's sessions. 


Community Project of the Year - Fit Rovers 

Scott and the team at Fit Rovers have created a health and well being programme based at Doncaster Rovers Keepmoat Stadium that has seen over 200 men attend. The programme is a great opportunity for men to socialise, work out and talk about issues to do with mental health and well being. Alongside this, the programme also has guest speakers come in to talk about success stories, provide advice and support the individuals attending. 


Charter Standard League of the Year - Sheffield & District Junior Sunday Football League

Sheffield & District Junior League has received this award for its continual support of FA campaigns such as the Respect programme along with promoting its own campaigns to ensure they can create the best environment for youth football as possible. 


Charter Standard Club of the Year - Sheffield Wednesday Ladies FC

SWLFC have won this award for its commitment to developing the club and the women's game. The club has shown significant growth since is start and now features female teams at all age groups. The club is self funded and provides excellent facilities and coaching for girls looking to play football. 


Young Referee of the Year - Aaron Hallam

Aaron has won this award in recognition of his developments as a referee. Aaron shows excellent potential as a referee and his performances on and off the pitch have been very impressive. 


Respect Award - Julie and Brian Haywood

Julie and Brian have helped support Brierley Cubs for a number of years and have promoted the Respect message throughout their time. They both hold multiple roles at the club and have helped develop the children during their time at the club. 


Match Official of the Year - JB Marsh

Brent has won this award for his contributions to refereeing. His service to the County FA has been exceptional and over the past 4 years, Brent has donated all his match fees to local hospitals and charities. 


Coach of the Year - Mark Roe

Mark has won the award of Coach of the Year for his efforts at AFC Dronfield. Mark has exceptional philosophies towards coaching and player development and installs these messages into the club and his players. 


Grounds Team of the Year - Shelley FC

Ash Berry and his team and Shelley FC have won this award for their efforts in developing the Stafflex Arena. The work they complete around the ground allows players to play at exceptional facilities and experience a positive football environment. 


Derek Dooley & Geldart Award Winner - Sheila Allsebrook

Double award winner Sheila received the Derek Dooley and Geldart awards this season. Sheila receives the Derek Dooley award for her commitments to local football for so many years and helping to support the game. She also received the Geldart award for her contributions to youth football and putting the foundations in place to allow the youth game to grow and develop. 



Unfortunately not all our winners could attend the evening but we would like to mention a special congratulations to the two individuals below that were not with us on the evening. 

Supporter of the Year - Lisa Godfrey (Hickleton Harriers)

Long Service Award for Refereeing - Brian Coddington