Calum Oakenfold
SHCFA Are Proud To Present Our 10 Local Winners




Sheffield & Hallamshire CFA has selected 10 local recipients of The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards 2018.

The Grassroots Football Awards, known previously as The FA and McDonalds Community Awards, recognise and celebrate the work of individuals and groups to instill The FA’s PRIDE values – Progressive, Respectful, Inclusive, Determination and Excellent – and make a positive difference in their club, league or local community.

Following receipt of a record 2,904 nominations, The FA has worked alongside respective County FAs to select appropriate winners across 10 categories. The full list of Sheffield & Hallamshire County FA Grassroots Football Awards 2018 winners are:

  • Coach of the year: Mark Roe
  • Community project of the year: Fit Rovers - Club Doncaster Foundation
  • Charter Standard club of the year: Sheffield Wednesday Ladies FC
  • Charter Standard league of the year: Sheffield & District Junior Sunday League
  • Grounds team of the year: Ash Berry - Shelley FC
  • Match Official of the year: JB Marsh
  • The Respect Award: Julie and Brian - Brierley Cubs U8s  
  • Supporter of the year: Lisa Godfrey - Hickleton Harriers
  • Volunteer of the year: Darren Warner - Ability Counts League
  • Youth volunteer of the year: Owen Evans - Chapeltown Athletic FC


Greg Clarke, Chairman of The FA, said: "It’s been fantastic to see a record number of nominations for this year’s Grassroots Football Awards and hear so many stories of dedication and commitment throughout the grassroots game.

"The selection of winners chosen alongside Sheffield & Hallamshire CFA represents the diverse nature of football in this country and I would like to congratulate each and every one for their inspirational work."

Calum Oakenfold, Marketing and Communications Officer of Sheffield & Hallamshire CFA, said: "It is great to see the number of nominations that we recieved for this years awards and it really shows how much great work is going on across South Yorkshire to support local grassroots football. It was very difficult for the awards panel to select the winners due to the amount of excellent examples of individuals, groups and organisations that were nominated. Congratulations to our winners but also congratulations to everyone that was nominated and well done for all the dedication and hard work you have completed." 

The 10 Grassroots winners will be added to our local winners and presented their awards on Thursday 18th October at the Sheffield & Hallamshire CFA Annual Council and Awards Dinner at New York Stadium. 

On 9 July, The FA’s National Panel will meet to select national winners from the pool of County FA recipients and they will be formally announced at the 2018 FA Community Shield on 5 August.


To learn more about The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards 2018, visit   


Related News

View All